First Impressions: Behind Your Smile (2016)

behindyoursmile

Chinese Name: 浮士德的微笑
Quick Summary: Lei Xin Yu (Eugenie Liu) is a kindhearted girl whose mother flees the country after a company scandal, leaving her penniless and alone. Zhao Yi Ting (Marcus Chang) seeks revenge for Xin Yu’s mother’s treatment of his family in the past and manipulates Xin Yu into his life in order to find her mother.
Stream It: Viki
Recommendation: Skip It

I was browsing Viki for something to watch and the pretty promo image caught my eye. I’ve skimmed through the first seven episodes and I am sorry to say that I’m extremely bored. I find Xin Yu’s character to be too weak – it’s fine if you’re a good person but you should also have at least a little common sense. The first couple episodes made me cringe and the way she speaks like a child gets on my nerves.

Yi Ting’s character is far more interesting, as he is very deliberate in his actions, and I am curious if Xin Yu’s mother is truly a villain or if there’s been someone else pulling the strings behind the scenes all these years. I’m not that curious but there are only 19 episodes so perhaps I will pick this back up one day.

Leave a Reply

