First Impressions: The Fox’s Summer (2017)

foxs-summerChinese Name: 狐狸的夏天
Brief Summary: Gu Cheng Ze (Jiang Chao) is the adopted son of the Gu family and president of the family’s company. In order to motivate Gu Jin Yun, the lazy, partying Gu family heir, he hires the girl who broke his heart seven years ago, Li Yan Shu (Tan Song Yun).
Stream It: YouTube

I’m really enjoying The Fox’s Summer! Li Yan Shu is hotheaded and sly, but also talented and hardworking, and the more you learn about her past, the more you like her. Gu Cheng Ze is your classic smart and motivated but unfeeling CEO. I’m sure you can tell where this is going. And yet, even as I’m about 11 or 12 episodes into this drama (I’ve been watching episode after episode so I’ve lost track of which one I’m on), I can’t help but think I would have also loved this drama if it had gone in the other direction. My next thoughts are spoiler-ey though so…

***SPOILER WARNING***

I really feel for Gu Jin Yun. There was one episode with flashbacks of him seeing how Li Yan Shu was treated before he met her. Their relationship back then was very sweet and real. When he overhears that she didn’t leave for the money, I was glad – but I wish he hadn’t just followed her but had actually approached her. However, we see that when she thinks back, it’s the memories with her mother that she cannot forget.

There are plenty of dramas where the two leads are separated for years but they find their way back to each other. And in an alternate version of this drama, I can see that. In present day, Gu Jin Yun’s heart is still with Li Yan Shu and I’m sad for him! After this heartbreak, she gets taken away from him by his own adopted brother? I like that Gu Jin Yun and Gu Cheng Zu have a good relationship – but we’ll see if that lasts…

And then again, I can understand Li Yan Shu. Gu Jin Yun reminds her of unhappy times and she is a very resolute person – she said she wasn’t going to see him again, so she won’t. Gu Cheng Ze is a brand new person in her life who doesn’t know about her past hardships, and she can start a fresh chapter. And despite his ignorance in understanding her, their constant bickering is in good humor and fun to watch.

Looking forward to finishing this drama, even as I continue thinking “poor Gu Jin Yun.”

P.S. I hate Han Jun Yao.

One thought on “First Impressions: The Fox’s Summer (2017)

  1. dramaobsessedpinup June 13, 2017 / 11:33 am

    My god the stepsister is quickly topping my list of worst step-sibling/step-mother in dramas because she truly hates her “sister” and is willing to be as horrid and nasty as possible to ruin her life and make her miserable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

